Sweetwood’s Dairy is now offering raw goat milk at the Santa Fe Farmer’s Market on Saturday mornings. Tip: get there really early (ie before 8 am) before they sell out! I was there today too late, but having tasted their milk in the past, I would not hesitate to recommend it. I also asked every other dairy producer there for raw milk, because suppliers only produce what they see a demand for. So even though I knew they did not have it, I asked anyway. Here in New Mexico, land of pasteurized milk producers, it’s going to take active advocacy to make fresh milk commonly available. So ask away! It took me six months to find a source of milk, and I met a lot of lovely people in the process. Happy hunting…

Update for you ABQ folks: Sweetwood’s has in the past been spotted at the Corrales Farmer’s Market, where it is legal to sell raw milk. Don’t bother looking for it in ABQ city limits, since the city long ago caved to pasteurized pressure and made it illegal to sell.

